LBS Dissing Cube Frames

alesupper
alesupper Posts: 286
edited June 2013 in MTB buying advice
I have been in my LBS to look at and discuss 29ers a couple of times and on both occasions the staff there have put me off Cube bikes (pushing me towards Treks or Whytes) because they say that they don't put much effort into the design of their frames, but make their bikes look good by putting good components on them.

Now I find this strange because:-

a) They are a Cube resellers so if they think that about their frames why do they sell them in the first place?
b) I have a Cube Reaction Pro hardtail and think it is a great bike.

I have only owned one MTB so I am not very experienced in this area so I wondered what people thought about Cube bikes? Is there any truth in what the LBS staff are saying or is it just that they make more profit on the Treks/Whytes?

Cheers.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    They are talking bs, find a better shop.
  • alesupper
    Thanks, I thought as much.
    supersonic wrote:
  • pastey_boy
    pastey_boy Posts: 2,083
    alesupper wrote:
    supersonic wrote:
    Does the shops name rhyme with "Mealface" ?
    Viner Salviati
    Shark Aero Pro
    Px Ti Custom
    Cougar 531
    Sab single speed
    Argon 18 E-112 TT
    One-one Ti 456 Evo
    Ridley Cheetah TT
    Orange Clockwork 2007 ltd ed
    Yeti ASR 5
    Cove Hummer XC Ti
  • alesupper
    Indeed it does. Have you had the same thing?
    pastey_boy wrote:
    alesupper wrote:
    supersonic wrote:
  • pastey_boy
    pastey_boy Posts: 2,083
    alesupper wrote:
    Indeed it does. Have you had the same thing?
    pastey_boy wrote:
    alesupper wrote:
    supersonic wrote:
    Not myself but a friend went in there and had his head filed with nonsense .
    Viner Salviati
    Shark Aero Pro
    Px Ti Custom
    Cougar 531
    Sab single speed
    Argon 18 E-112 TT
    One-one Ti 456 Evo
    Ridley Cheetah TT
    Orange Clockwork 2007 ltd ed
    Yeti ASR 5