Pit-stops!?

Schoie81
Schoie81 Posts: 749
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hi guys,

New to road bikes and therefore long distance cycle rides. I see people on here talking of 50, 60, 80, 100 miles rides and makes me wonder, how far do you cycle before you stop for a break? You don't cycle that kind of distance without a break somewhere....or do you??

Assuming you do stop for a drink/food/rest/toilet stop/stretch, how long do you typically stop for before getting back on the road?
"I look pretty young, but I'm just back-dated"

Comments

• I did my first 50 miler at the wknd and had a planned stop at 28 miles to eat some food and refuel, then I stopped again at about 40 because I was breathing out of my @rse. I'm pretty new to it tho so I wouldnt be suprised if some people do 50 with no stops, (most I've done is 40). I think 60-100 will defo need stops.
  • zardoz
    zardoz Posts: 251
    That's a bit like asking "how long is a piece of string?"
    Drink - little and often I find works for me. Plenty of good and bad advice on here about how much to drink. As a rule of thumb about half a litre an hour is a good starting point and then work out what works best for you it does depend on the weather and how hard you are working.
    Food - For rides of 2 hours or less you probably won't need to eat. Longer than that I like to eat little and often these days. When I started out I used to stop every hour or so for a couple of minutes to scoff something but only because I found it difficult eating on the go.
    Rest - If you are excessively tired! I prefer not to stop, but slow down for a while to recover. I think if you start to stop everytime you get tired then your body gets used to that and you'll never improve.
    Toilet stop - You need to ask?

My preference is not to stop for too long on any ride because I find I stiffen up (and not in a good way). A better plan might be to ride to a pre-determined cafe and have a stop there.