move to Tonbridge, Kent?

Courage Monsieur
Courage Monsieur Posts: 534
edited June 2013 in The cake stop
Hello All

Am considering moving to Tonbridge, Kent.
Anyone have any experience of it, past or present? And how's the cycling round there?

Cheers

Comments

• barrybridges
    barrybridges Posts: 420
    Tonbridge is fairly close to me and I go there fairly frequently.

In generall it's quite nice, but like most places has good and bad bits. In the area generally people tend to look down slightly at Tonbridge as Tunbridge Wells' poor relation, but I wouldn't take any notice of that as it's just snobbishness on their part (it's referenced as Scumbridge quite often).

Cycling-wise, very nice. Lots of green spaces in the area; the whole Weald area up to Sevenoaks and the North Downs are easily accessible. Hilbenbrough, Paddock Wood, all very nice places.
  • barrybridges
    Oh, and not to plug or anything, but my day job is to run a website for people who want to research a property or area online, so would very much encourage you to have a look at www.propertydetective.com and let me have your thoughts! Will give you a good idea about schools, crime, demographics etc, but once you have a street or property in mind.
  • jkboxall
    jkboxall Posts: 79
    I come from that part of the world, and very much enjoy the cycling round there! Lots of lovely countryside to explore :)

I try to go back there every now and then with my bike, lovely.
  • Lycra-Byka
    Lycra-Byka Posts: 292
    It's an area I have considered moving to. I travel the whole of the uk and subconsciously seek nice areas to live. Tonbridge/wells is in my top 5. Nice countryside around and not too far from the big smoke. I've no idea on house prices or work but it seems a nice place, certainly for a cyclist.
    I do see quite a lot of cyclists around the area too which is a good sign.
  • Cheers guys. I'm thinking about it but the cost of the train season ticket is a downside.
  • barrybridges