First Audax

ianspeare
ianspeare Posts: 110
I have my first Audax style ride next week- A 50k all for charity. Just wondering what to expect from the day from start (signing on) to finish (line) I've never done a sportive either , so I'm new to all of it. I have done a couple of club rides, so I know how to ride in a group.

Comments

• I'm a newbie to Audaxing, I've done a 100 km and two 200k events. Audax events vary depending on who is organising them but the main difference between an Audax and a Sportive is that you are expected to be self sufficient regarding navigation and mechanical breakdowns. Some events provide food at Controls, others don't but it's always made clear in the joining instructions. Some events provide GPS routing, but all I have done have had routesheets with turn by turn instructions. These provide more than enough information to get around the route but it's advisable to have a map covering the route as well in case you take a wrong turn and don't have gps. Your route sheet will guide you between the controls, on a 50k there won't be that many, also you may have info controls which aren't manned but will ask a question at the location which you wouldn't be able to answer without being there (google streetview excepting!) e.g. on the signpost, how far to Salisbury?
    You may find yourself riding alone, the first 200k I did there were only 9 riders, that said I was often in sight of other riders and rode the last 100k with an experienced Audaxer who kept me motivated! Although the idea of Audax is self sufficiency, all the people I've met have been the nicest bunch you could hope to meet. HTH
  • marylogic
    marylogic Posts: 355