Advice, Maybe help needed!

ammo0_0
ammo0_0 Posts: 7
edited June 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi, I'm a 30 yr old guy, 5ft 11" slim build.

I started riding again after years of not... And I have reignited my childhood past time, which I love. I was given a Carrera Subway 2 Hybrid bike. Best bike I have owned to date! :(

My friends and I going mountain biking around our local area, we have varying bikes from a specialized stumpjumper fsr, to Carrera Kracken 2012 model, then me!!!

So, looking at their bikes, i needed to work on mine! I changed the chainset to 3. New Discs and Pads, Front derailleur to sram and front shifter, Sram Sx5 I think. Changed the wheels and tyres for off road. Kept the Machanical Tektro Io Bakes. I got rid of the suspension saddle as i found it bounced me around somewhat! I have a normal seatpost now, I sourced some front forks from Ebay, due to budget.... Was made unemployed a few months ago. I ended up with some RST Launch forks, not brilliant, but better than nothing!

However.... Thats where my problem began, I have had a few hairy moments going on some downhill trails and a few steep drops and up hill, i get bounced around... The latest drop threw me off the bike... I felt the Suspension compress and force me back up into a kinda wheelie, which in turn sent me back forward and off!! My friend said it looked like the bike got under me too much he mentioned the headset angle could be too far back due to me putting 100mm travel forks on, which are 2 1/2" longer than my original forks.... Estimating the headset angle to be somewhere around 60 degrees.

So, I now have a dent in my confidence on this bike.

Bearing in mind the components I have, what would be a good hardtail frame to look out for on ebay with a low budget of roughly £50.

Any ideas?

Comments

• Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    Anything made by Merida.
  • ammo0_0
    What size?? 19"?
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599