Can I ride in a group? - Reluctant to keep up...

joeninho
joeninho Posts: 9
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to the road cycling game. I'm talking new in terms of a few weeks. As posted earlier, I managed 50 miles on Friday, which I am quite pleased with. I am toying with the idea of joining a club, but a little apprehensive having read a few things on bike radar recently (see 'Reluctant to keep up thread').

There are two issues...

1. I have never ridden in a group and I may be reluctant to ride on the wheel of someone without some serious practice/training, although I'm as daring as the next guy and will give most things a try. Why is a gap such an issue for a beginners group? This is not a criticism of JGSI's view, rather I am interested in the politics and etiquette of club/group riding.

2. My average speed on the 50 miler was 12.7 mph. In fact, that seems to be my average on most rides, although there are plenty of hills around these parts. Is this fast enough to ride with a club? I wouldn't want the whole club having a barby at the side of the road as they wait for me to catch up.

Cheers,

J.

Comments

• paul_mck
    paul_mck Posts: 1,058
    you dont need to ride 5mm from the guy in front just keep up! Sit at a gap youre comfortable with as it wont help anyone if you touch wheels and go arse over tit.

I think youd struggle to find a club that runs at that pace unless they have a beginners group but most are approachable and will soon let you know.
  • JayKosta
    JayKosta Posts: 635
    In my area (NY USA) there are 2 different types of cycling clubs -
    1) race / performance oriented
    2) leisure / recreation / social oriented