Wheels - Soul S3.0

Calpol
Calpol Posts: 1,039
edited August 2014 in Road buying advice
Hello guys and girls.
I thought I would type up a bit of my recent experience pursuing an upgrade to the wheels on my road bike. Its not intended to have any credence as a review as I have only ridden the new wheels for about 90 miles so its more about the initial impressions, purchasing experience and the decision making process that led to me choosing to buy from Soul.

I would like to acknowledge the input in the forum and related blogs from the likes of Ugo Santalucia, Wheelsmith, thecycleclinic etc. They take the time to post and tirelessly offer advice on matters of the wheel. It served to both inform and torment me.

This post might be a bit longwinded. In fact it might be boring so I will break it into sections so you can selectively read or ignore

About the rider
I am relatively new to road riding, having got into it again in the last three years after a hiatus of nearly 8 years which coincided with the arrival of my children. I am 6' tall and now weight about 74kg. I ride for fitness, to destress and to enjoy being outside. I also ride socially with a local club.

About the bike
My bike is a Wilier Izoard XP from 2011. I bought it from the classifieds on here about a year ago to relegate and old Peugeot steel frame bike from the late 1990's. I adore the Wilier and have ridden it with great pleasure for the last 2000 miles. Its Veloce specced and has Fulcrum Racing 5 wheels. It has been and probably still is more bike than my ability requires but I love riding it, maintaining it and looking at it.

Why buy new wheels?