Just Ridden A Road Bike For The First Time

gubble
gubble Posts: 10
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
Hi Everyone

As per my previous post i'm very new to this. I've owned a mountain bike as a child and got another very cheap (£11 on ebay) mountain bike about 3 years but always lusted after a road bike.

Finances are a bit tight so took a gamble on an early 90's Raleigh Scorpio advertised locally. It needed new tyres (fitted this evening) and the brakes adjusting however I couldn't resist the urge to take it out for a quick spin around the block.

I can't believe how much of a difference there is compared to my mountain bike, it's so bloomin fast and focused. Can't wait to take it out properly and put a few miles under my belt. Really happy and motivated.

Am i mad for starting off with a 20 year old steel framed racer?

Comments

• wotnoshoeseh
    wotnoshoeseh Posts: 531
    Whatever works - if finances are tight just go for it...
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Not mad at all for getting an old road bike. Hope you have many more hours of fun on it :wink:
  • mtbboy101
    mtbboy101 Posts: 62
    No. still riding a 25 year old steel road bike here. it's great, enjoy, and welcome. Expect finances to get even tighter now :)
  • hipshot
    hipshot Posts: 371
    Type of bike is of piffling importance compared to getting out and enjoying cycling.

A lot of riders swear by steel anyway.

If the bike has been stood for a long time just make sure everything is tight and all the bearings are good before you ride in anger.
  • fatsmoker
    fatsmoker Posts: 585
    gubble wrote:

Absolutely not. I bought a 30 year old MBK this time last year, which I used for 6 months until finances allowed me to upgrade. I miss it! You get more satisfaction overtaking the carbon crowd. And you worry less about damage in the bike sheds at work.
  • gubble
    gubble Posts: 10
    Thanks Guys !

Looking forward to this weekend and having a proper ride out.