Complete Newbie Needs Some Advice

gubble
gubble Posts: 10
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
Hello

I'm completely new to road riding. I've been cycling on and off for a few years on my old, battered mountain bike (bought for the bargain price of £11 on ebay) and would like to get into road riding.

I've been reading the forum on here and not being flush with cash have looked down the route of finding an older style steel racer to get me going on the road. I've acquired an early 90's Raleigh Scoprio which is in lovely condition however requires news tyres - as i'm 100% new to this i've no idea about tyres etc so any advice would be gratefully received.

Many Thanks

Chris

Comments

• seanoconn
    seanoconn Posts: 11,628
    Welcome Chris. Few different types of tyre about. Give us some ideas about what you're looking for in a tyre so folk can help.

All the best
    Pinno, מלך אידיוט וחרא מכונאי
  • seanoconn
    seanoconn Posts: 11,628
    For example, do you want the fastest rolling tyre available or the best puncture protection or a combination?
    Pinno, מלך אידיוט וחרא מכונאי
  • owenlars
    owenlars Posts: 719
    I assume you are not vying for a stage win in the Giro and just want some reasonably performing relatively strong and long lasting tyres, so fit and forget Gatorskins.
  • gubble
    Hi there - thank you for the responses.

I'm just wanting something that's going to give good tyre life and durability from punctures etc. I'm so green and naive on this subject it's untrue ! I'll obviously have to find the tyre size first - I'm assuming this would be on the tyre wall like on a car or motorcycle?
  • MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    You need the diameter designation, probably 700c but older scorpios may be 27".