What do you do after a bike ride ?

Red-Eye
Red-Eye Posts: 20
edited May 2013 in Road general
So I just got back from a 60Km dry & warm bike ride at the weekend, open the garage door, put the bike to bed, removed the cycling shoes, thanked the bike for another great ride ;-) and closed the garage door !!

5mins later I felt guilty that I should have been fettling with the bike to keep her in tip-top condition, so she's ready for the next outing when the weather allows :oops: .

The question is what do other people do after they return from a ride, do you fettle the bike ?, give her a good clean regardless of the weather conditions ? or just put her to bed hoping that she's all ok for the next outing ?

Your opions would be greatfull as I'm fairly new to road cycling, cheers.

Comments

• lotus49
    lotus49 Posts: 763
    If my bike is dirty and it's not raining heavily I wash her and then myself.

I tend to do any fettling at random times during the evening but rarely straight after a ride unless there is a specific problem. Bikes don't seem to need that much time spent on them so I doubt I could find things to do after every ride.
  • gavbarron
    gavbarron Posts: 824
    If it's my training bike then just throw it in the garage and maybe wash it once a fortnight, that's the beauty of an old training bike. Main priority after a ride is to shower, eat and then go play with my son. Other than a wash my bike rarely needs any fettling
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Unless it is wet, the bike is the lowest priority for me when I finish a ride. Often, I'd be happy to just abandon the thing and have it stolen so I don't have to ride it again.

Food and getting out of the shorts that I might have had on for 30-odd hours are very high priorities.

Sleep usually follows very soon after that.
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    check strava for disappointment.

No point cleaning a bike, its only going to get dirty again.
  • tonye_n
    tonye_n Posts: 832