High Heart rate all the time!

fraserforbes
fraserforbes Posts: 9
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
I have been cycling for around 8 months after around 10 years of no exercise at all.

My resting heart rate is 60. I have built up to a range for around 50miles (13.5mph avg) I notice my HR avg is always around 176 on any slow pace rides.

Is this normal or just a sign am unfit?

Example - http://app.strava.com/activities/54871875

Thanks

Comments

• mattbass789
    mattbass789 Posts: 355
    Everyone's heart rates are different, on and off the bike.
    As you get fitter your heart rate will come down for the same level of perceived effort.

However, it's a case to start worrying when your heart rate never returns to resting, and stays elevated for an unusual amount of time after you stop and finish you ride.

I remember when I started upping my riding many years ago, using a basic polar HR monitor, and tracking it with a spreadsheet, my Averages were very high, compared to now. to get the same average now I have to work very hard.
    “If you worried about falling off the bike, you’d never get on.”

@mattbeedham
  • hatch87
    hatch87 Posts: 352
    Wouldn't worry, after 2 years my heart rate is still in the 180's. Anything below 160 feels like I'm not doing anything. You should only worry if its abnormal to you rather than anyone else. We just have little hampster hearts :-D
    http://app.strava.com/athletes/686217
    Come on! You call this a storm? Blow, you son of a bitch! Blow! It's time for a showdown! You and me! I'm right here! Come and get me!
  • Inutero
    Inutero Posts: 111
    On a side note, nice little run you have there. Cycled to Crieff a few times this year from Perth. If you continue up the Gilmerton road instead of turning off, you end up at the Sma'Glen. Beautiful place.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    I have been cycling for around 8 months after around 10 years of no exercise at all.