how much will 100km hurt?!

thombb
thombb Posts: 7
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all,

Just wondering if a 100km ride is going to be too much for me.

I'm pretty new to road bikes, though I've had slicks on my rigid MTB for a couple of years, I got a retro road bike a couple of weeks ago and have been loving it. I've done two 50km and a 40km rides in the past two weeks. One 50km ride was very relaxed (2hr30), the other (1hr45) I pushed myself hard & felt totally drained afterwards. I don't think I ever did more than 20km on my MTB in a single ride.

Now I'm planning a ride from Bath to Poole, and wondering if I can get it done this Sat evening (finish work at 4), with couple of stops and some energy snacks.

I realise it'll be a different scale of challenge for different characters, but any immediate thoughts? Impossible or very straightforward??

Cheers,
T

Comments

• Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    Straightforward. You'll be fine, just stay hydrated.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • 100km should be pretty achievable.

Just take it at a steady pace and make sure you drink lots of fluids even if you don't feel thirsty and take onboard snacks as well if you want to keep your energy up.

I tend to start off steady and increase my pace as I get further in to the ride but that just a personal thing, too often on sportives I have seen people race off the start line like its a time trial and be ruined by 30 miles.

And most importantly, enjoy it!
  • pride4ever
    pride4ever Posts: 510
    I think the word is "pissball".
    the deeper the section the deeper the pleasure.
  • Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    I did 62 miles yesterday, an egg sandwich for breakfast,two small pieces of flapjack on the ride , 750ml of electrolyte, a spare few hours and bobs your uncle.

Just pace yourself and enjoy it.
  • city_boy
    city_boy Posts: 1,616
    pride4ever wrote:

Another quality post :lol: