Front Disc Brake "rattle"

PYT1984
PYT1984 Posts: 10
edited March 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
My bike is only a couple of months old but it's started to make a rattling sound at the front disc.
Any ideas to what could be causing this?

I'm a bit of a noob to repairs and maintenance so any help would be great.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    lose disc?
    bearings of hub need adjusting?
    pads vibrating?

plus a few others.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • levolon
    levolon Posts: 78
    lose caliper bolts?
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    What brake (make and model).

Mechanical (cable) are prone to loose pads....
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • PYT1984
    PYT1984 Posts: 10
    Thanks for the replies.

The bike is a Cannondale Trail SL1 2012. It has Avid Elixir Hydraulic Discs.

After further riding it sounds more like a buzz than a rattle.

I could just take it to the local bike shop but I'd much rather learn to do these things on my own if possible.
  • The Rookie
    Does light braking (just feathering it on) stop the rattle? if so it's either a loose disc or pads....
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.