Upgrading bike to pedal up hills easier?

someoneeee
someoneeee Posts: 8
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
Hello, I'm currently new to biking and I was wondering what type of upgrades should I make to my "Schwinn Katana" in order to pedal easier uphills. It takes me a lot of effort to go up really tall hills even on the smallest gear so I have to walk. Thank you!

Also, I live in the East Coast. :D

Comments

• drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    Sounds like you'd benefit from lower gearing, What chainset do you have e.g. 50/39 or 50/34 and what range casssette e.g. 12-25, 11-27 etc.
    WyndyMilla Massive Attack | Rourke 953 | Condor Italia 531 Pro | Boardman CX Pro | DT Swiss RR440 Tubeless Wheels
    Find me on Strava
  • MountainMonster
    MountainMonster Posts: 7,423
    The bike will not make too much of a difference. If you are new to cycling it will take a while to develop the muscles needed fr cycling and it can take a hell of a long time to get comfortable on hills. I suggest hitting them harder for longer and eventually you will make it.

It does no good to upgrade the bike if the legs can not handle it!
  • someoneeee
    drlodge wrote:
    Sounds like you'd benefit from lower gearing, What chainset do you have e.g. 50/39 or 50/34 and what range casssette e.g. 12-25, 11-27 etc.

Yeah, I think lower gearing would be great. Here's what I found:
    53-34t crankset
    28-14t casset
  • someoneeee
    The bike will not make too much of a difference. If you are new to cycling it will take a while to develop the muscles needed fr cycling and it can take a hell of a long time to get comfortable on hills. I suggest hitting them harder for longer and eventually you will make it.

It does no good to upgrade the bike if the legs can not handle it!

I mean, I'm not entirely new to cycling and I have strong legs, but the hills are freaking steep and tall to the extent that my bike can't handle the rigor that I put it through. :P
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273