Am i going about this the right way? New bike....

will_85
will_85 Posts: 84
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
So i'm basically brand new to road biking & recently picked myself up a 2012 Carrera Virtuoso.... I got it for £170 second hand and am using it as a project, to see if my heart is really in it & so far it seems it is!

I've upgraded a couple of bits - new pedals, and a carbon seat post / clamp. Im half torn betwen leaving it as it is & waiting 6 months or so & upgrading the bike as a whole (like the look of the Ribble 7005 Sportive as an entry level bike) But then theres also a burning desire to just upgrade it bit by bit & then eventually buy a new frame set & transfer which ever parts i buy for the virtuoso. Which is likely to work out best financially? Im definately a boy who loves his toys & tinkering about with bikes.....

I am by my own admittance addicted to all things Carbon fibre (goes back to my car days) so will be looking at buying as many carbon goodies as possible, mainly smaller components for now as i dont want to shell out big bucks just yet.... Stem, spacers etc. Probably first on the hit list of upgrades would be new wheels (Looking at Shimano R500 / R501) Also tyres, tubes & brake pads before moving onto bigger components.... Im guessing its probably best leaving Carbon forks until upgrading the frame?

What are your views?

Comments

• rstabler11
    rstabler11 Posts: 67
    Will almost certainly work out cheaper to buy a whole carbon bike if that's what you want.

However I can see the attraction of building up bit by bit, it will be more fun and interesting, but more expensive.

Wheels are a fairly major component to be upgrading (I would consider them a "bigger component"), however even if you buy a carbon bike quite often people will decide they want a new wheelset anyway.