mtb frame size too big ?

CUBEical
CUBEical Posts: 211
edited May 2013 in MTB general
hi there i am quite new to mtb, i bruaght a gt a while back that was a 19inch frame , felt bit small but was great to ride. i lost my job so sold it ,but luckily a friend had a cube for sale I have recently bruaght on the cheap, it has a large frame but I did not know just how large, i think i have measured it to be a 22inch now I am in process of doing it up. my question is is it to big for me i am 5 ft 11inch, i checked a measurement guide online and it says it right hight for a road bike but not mountain bike , now i will mostly be riding it on the roads any way, but i do want to get into trekking and xc.is it worth me getting a smaller frame or could i just adjust other components on the bike to fit me better , i do understand the reasons for needing a smaller frame than if it was a road bike, thats why i am wondering if it going to be to big for trails and xc if any one can help me out with some advice thanks
I am sorry if I talk to much s@#t it goes with the name.............

Comments

• 22 inch frame is pretty big..

I'm 6ft 2 and haven't ridden anything over 20".. it would just be too big - personal preference of course, but its rather large.
  • Long_Time_Lurker
    Long_Time_Lurker Posts: 1,068
    Maybe, maybe not.
    In general, it's easier tweaking a bike that is too small, rather than too large (you can extend seat posts and handlebar stems).

It's all about inside leg measurement and body length.
    I ride a 20" framed Cube and am 6ft 1, with a 33" inside leg, so would say that it is probably a bit on the large size.
    But before you decide to sell, make sure the bike is set up properly - there are guides on here. You may get away with some tweaking here & there.
    2007 Felt Q720 (the ratbike)
    2012 Cube Ltd SL (the hardtail XC 26er)
    2014 Lapierre Zesty TR 329 (the full-sus 29er)
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599