Hello! Relative newbie!

daveysue
daveysue Posts: 4
edited May 2013 in Commuting general
Hello guys and gals, I'm a relative newbie for cycling. It's something I want to get back into to lose some weight after I quit smoking. I used to be quite fit (kung fu and kettle bells), but a sedate ex gf and in all honesty myself being lazy the weight has piled on :(
Anyway I really want to start commuting to work again, I live about 7 miles from the office. I have literally just bought a Boardman comp. Basically because I didnt want to spend too much initially and its for work. I know that halfords have a fairly ropey track record, well the "mechanics" do anyway. I took the bike out for a 37 mile ride today, and the front disc was squeaking when my weight was over the right hand side of the bike (especially when accelerating). Is this just a case of waiting for things to settle down? I did read a rather amusing albeit alarming thread on here about the bar ends, is this something i need to concern myself with? My old bike is a super reliable Giant XTC Road series (nexus 7 hub) is pretty much self maintained, what should i be doing regularly to ensure the boardman is kept in tip top condition (specifically thinking gears and discs).

Apologies if this is a bit long, just lots of questions :)

Comments

• Initialised
    Initialised Posts: 3,047
    Check caliper alignment. I think noise when you lean is normal especially on carbon forks as they flex a bit when cornering.
    I used to just ride my bike to work but now I find myself going out looking for bigger and bigger hills.
  • wandsworth
    wandsworth Posts: 354
    I have a Boarman Comp, and it's proved to be a great bike once I got it properly set up. If you did 37 miles and that was the only issue then it's probably OK but I would suggest getting your local bike shop to give the bike a once-over just to be sure it's set up properly.