Cross chaining

RichPWRR
RichPWRR Posts: 6
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
Sorry if this is a bit of a stupid question but I am new to road cycling so not sure. I have read a bit on this forum about crosschaining and how it is not good for the drive train and not efficient. My question is therefore, what order should I go up the gears using both front and rear cogs ( I have a defy 5 with a compact double 50/34 and 8s 11x28) or how should I be using the gears to be most efficient and reduce wear and cross chaining?

Comments

• Mikey23
    Mikey23 Posts: 5,306
    Just get a feel for it... Try to stick in the middles. 50/11 is your top, 34/28 is your bottom. Try to avoid 34/11 or 50/28. Everything else should be ok.
  • morstar
    morstar Posts: 6,190
    The previous post is good advice but don't get too hung up about it. Riding a compact, there are times when it is simply easier to cross chain for a little while. The drive train is pretty robust, increased wear is a small percentage factor over several thousand miles.
  • Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022
    It also depends on the terrain ahead. If I know theres a long straight or downhill bit ahead then I'll move up to the big ring earlier instead of moving down through the rear cogs first. If I know theres a short downhill then a climb I'll stay in the smaller ring and just change up and down the rear cogs as necessary.
    Sometimes I don't find the exact comfortable ratio on the small ring so I may change to the big and shift down 1 or 2 on the back, as long as I'm not then in 1st or 2nd ont he back.
    As mikey said, staying in the middles as a general rule is a good policy but as you're already aware of it, its just a case of preventing undue wear and tear on your drive chain.
  • Mikey23
    Yup I realised that after I posted. Don't get hung up on it .. A spell of cross chaining isn't going to kill you or the bike... Just don't do it all the time and it isn't a very efficient way of riding
  • RichPWRR