Padded bib shorts .. Best padding?

Philly8mt
Philly8mt Posts: 552
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
I'm pretty new at this so it's not a shock that my arse was in bits at the end of a fifteen mile jaunt the other day!

I was wearing some Decathlon bib shorts (no5). I've just seen that they now do a number 9 for £49.00 which presumably will save my ass a little. Anyone used em?

Or ... Any other recommends (at a reasonable cost) ??????
Still thinking of something clever to say!

Comments

• Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    The good news is you'll get less sensitive as you ride more.

Otherwise, shorts padding varies a lot. Usually the more you spend, the better they get and I am willing to spend good money there as I will see the most benefit.

I have some Altura Stream shorts that cost me £15. They are OK for about 2hrs, then I want to get off. Figured I needed to stop being tight, so I bought some Endura FS260 Pro shorts for £55. Wow, I could ride all day in those!

I've never seen Decathlon shorts, but the no.9 may be similar to the FS260. The padding feels denser and has more thickness in strategic areas, that's what is making the difference.
    Giant Defy 2 (2012)
    Giant Defy Advanced 2 (2013)
    Giant Revel 1 Ltd (2013)
    Strava
  • Philly8mt
    I do hope so! I felt great after .... No pain from my Achillies or older football injuries, everything else felt good and was a brilliant location. I'm not the most confident around traffic so the area was a fantastic place to go. I know 15 miles is bugger all to some on here but it's a start and I'LL BE BACK ;)

As for shorts ... You are spot on, you get what you pay for I guess. I'll look out for the Endura shorts thanks.
    With the amount I've spent already recently on my new interest I was thinking around the £50.00 mark (this time) lol.
  • dave02
    dave02 Posts: 325