Somerset GF this weekend...

bigpikle
bigpikle Posts: 1,690
Who's heading out on this on Sunday? Looks like it might be quite a decent weather day for a change with 16-18 degs forecast and looking dry.

I'm up for the GF and 193km which seemed like a good idea at the time but knowing those roads and climbs I've been getting more and more nervous all week! :lol::lol:
Your Past is Not Your Potential...

Comments

• Ah ha, You're right to be nervous - the last one is tough - Crowcombe - it's a beast!

What impresses me about the Somerset Hills GF route is how they've organised it so that each hill is harder than the last, and with some easy riding in between to re-loosen the legs.

I'll be on the Forest of Dean Classic and that one looks much more up/down/up/down all day long but can't see anything like Crowcombe on the route.
  • bazzer2
    bazzer2 Posts: 189
    I'm looking forward to it - I've never done a sportive before so I thought I'd dip my toes in to the medio. I've been over Crowcombe about half a dozen times and I'm down to 'just stopping once' in my training now! Let's see if I can get up in one go on the day, hey!

:)
  • bigpikle
    oh yes...Crowcombe...

Only actually ridden up it once and that was 2 years ago when I was far less fit and didnt need to put a foot down, although I didnt have 80 miles in my legs when I got there. Its certainly going to haunt me across Exmoor and along the coast but assuming I dont get a load of people baling out in front of me I'm confident it will simply be a hellish/character building 10 mins ;)

Enjoy FoD - walked and climbed there many times but yet to visit on 2 wheels - maybe next year?
  • bigpikle
    what a great day this was!

I really enjoyed the route and found it more enjoyable than the Tour of Wessex day 3 route that goes almost the same way, but Somerset GF manages to really avoid al the terrible main roads around there and create a much better balance of challenging climbs and distance.