helmet cam result

mybreakfastconsisted
mybreakfastconsisted Posts: 1,018
edited May 2013 in Commuting chat
Gaz:

http://www.croydoncyclist.co.uk/rx11axp-result/
As I left the court room, the driver said “Watch yourself out there” to me and his brother gave me a sinister look. Probably not the best thing to do when a waiting room is filled with several police officers.

Comments

• vitesse169
    vitesse169 Posts: 422
    Result...! How could the driver (realisticly) not see the cyclist ?
  • greg66_tri_v2.0
    greg66_tri_v2.0 Posts: 7,172
    I ride along that piece of road when I go swimming after work. I've seen something similar happen twice. It's an appallingly bad piece of road layout.
    Swim. Bike. Run. Yeah. That's what I used to do.

Bike 1
    Bike 2-A
  • pitchshifter
    pitchshifter Posts: 1,476
    It's an appallingly bad piece of road layout.

It is terrible. As a driver I imagine its easy to assume the cyclists all filter off left.
  • First.Aspect
    First.Aspect Posts: 16,958
    I have to agree that it is a bad piece of road. In that instance however the cyclist repeatedly shoulder checks and has to cut to the left to the left to avoid another vehicle doing the same thing. So quite clearly trying to go straight on. Just goes to show the danger of driving based on a series of presumptions. Eventually the series of probabilities that your assumptions are incorrect will catch up with you.

As to road design - who the hell are these people?
  • Origamist
    Origamist Posts: 807
    Well done, Gaz for pursuing this with the police and getting a positive result. The outcome for the cyclist could have been horrific, if she had not taken evasive action.
  • Mr Sharky
    Mr Sharky Posts: 172
    I dread to think what could have happened if she'd been using clipless as she needed her leg swing in order to maintain her balance. Hope she's not too shaken up after this and continues to ride a bike, and well done Gaz for chasing things up.

Group hug. :-)