Help me manual & wheelie

danlightbulb
danlightbulb Posts: 701
edited May 2013 in MTB general
I've been trying for weeks to pull off a manual or a wheelie and I cant do it at all.

I've watched video's, read up on the technique and I still cant do it. Out of 5 attempts I'll get the front wheel more than 1 ft high only once and it just plods straight back down again.

Every time I ride I have a go, on a flat grass field. I've tried it with forks locked out and without, in a high and low gear, with the saddle slammed and at normal riding height.

It cant be this hard can it? What am I doing wrong?

Comments

• paulneenan76
    paulneenan76 Posts: 777
    They are not the same thing and require different techniques. I'm no expert and I can't manual properly for toffee but I suspect your problem is in finding and trusting your balance point. Slam your seat and move your arse further and further off the back. Eventually the front wheel will lift as you push out with your feet. Keep practising.
    Family, Friends, Fantastic trails - what else is there

viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12898838
    viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12897374
  • SteveH28
    SteveH28 Posts: 44
    Try it in a mid gear thats low enough not too need too much effort but high enough to give you some power.
    Practice on a light downhill may help.
    Biggest thing that helped me was to lean back but not to be scared of falling off the back. For me body position was a big factor. I was always scared that if i leaned too far i would fall on my butt and get hurt. Once i got past that i could lean back enough to wheelie.

Manuals will follow. Practice on a slope you can roll down at a briskish pace but not too fast and again its down to body position and balance point. I tend to give the bike a little push forward with my feet as i lift the front as i find it easier to do a standing manual than seated. The slope helps you to manual if your rolling letting you concentrate on body position.