Bamboo bikes

TanTan
TanTan Posts: 4
edited May 2013 in MTB general
Hi, I'm a university student and, as part of our assignment, we have to compose a marketing plan for a bike company that uses bamboo to make its frames. I'm trying to get some primary research together to help me with my recommendations and would like to ask if anyone can answer a few quick questions for me.

Here is a bit of basic info about the company and a link to the website:
Bamboo Bikes is a small company based in Scarborough, Yorkshire that build high performance bamboo bike frames and have been working with bamboo bike technology for four years.
The bikes are all hand-made and completely constructed from bamboo, with flax fibre lugs that add strength and shock-absorption. Bamboo Bikes use exclusive engineering technology under license from Oxford Brookes University.
The reasons for the company using bamboo as a material are as follows:
· Bamboo has a higher tensile strength than steel
· The natural stiffness of the bamboo is maximised so that it makes one of the stiffest frames
· Bamboo is extremely absorbent of vibrations and bumps in the road meaning that it performs well for performance riding such as mountain biking
· Bamboo tubes have consistent properties which make it an ideal natural material for high-tech applications such as bicycle frames
· Each one of the frames is unique due to the bamboo markings
· Using flax fibre lugs, the frames are constructed using natural materials which makes for great aesthetics and stronger frames
http://www.bamboobike.co/

My questions are:
1. Do you feel that you are concerned about the environment?
2. Would you consider purchasing a bike made out of bamboo? Why?
3. How much would you be willing to pay, on average, for a mountain bike made from bamboo?
4. Do you feel that you would need to test-ride the bike before making a purchasing decision?
5. Would you trust a bike made from bamboo? Why?