Protection tights without padding?

Onades
Onades Posts: 9
edited May 2013 in MTB general
I'm relatively new to MTBing and really enjoy going through narrow trails. What I'm looking for are some kind of full length tights that offer both protection against scraps from trees and bushes and from a possible fall on the gravel/rocks during a decent. I can live with the bruising, but like to avoid the open skin (my main hobby is windsurfing and open skin with a two day soak in salt water is not recommended; bruising I'm used to :lol: ).
As I happen to live in sunny Catalonia, I'd rather avoid heavy padding which seems overkill anyway at the moment.
Can anyone point me in the right direction or maybe has some clever ideas.
Thxs

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    California? Like USA style?
    Tights keep you warm - probably the last thing you need.
    I would just MTFU.

If you are worried about rocks get some knee pads.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • neilrosser
    neilrosser Posts: 236
    He said CATALONIA, get you eyes tested old man :shock: , mind you the rest of your post is still relevant :lol:
    Trek Fuel EX8
  • cooldad
    Bugger - I've been meaning to get them looked at for a while. Guess sooner rather than later.
    I don't do smileys.

Parktools
  • Onades
    Indeed, Catalonia in Spain. :roll: Still warm though; today I was out two hours in 29 degrees C. :oops:
    And yes, I understand that tights keep you warm. I used to do trailrunning in compression tights until I tore two of my knee ligaments landing a bad jump windsurfing.
    Still I like to know if anyone has any suggestion; preferable with no (or minimal) padding and breathable.

And for those who haven't the experience: skin wounds in salt water don't close and "grow" deeper after prolonged salt water exposure. It's not nice and something I like to avoid if possible 8)
  • bennett_346