Chainset advice for newbie

Meerkat16
Meerkat16 Posts: 320
edited April 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all. As title states i am fairly new to road cycling and having recently bought a full carbon bike with a Tiagra groupset i am in a position to upgrade to Ultegra. i have got the 6700 shifters, front and rear Mech. Just after BB, Brakes etc and 6700 Chainset in Glossy grey to match other parts. My question is, my weakness at the minute is hills and currently running a 50/39 chainset. Someone has advised me to buy a compact rather than a double chainset. However as i am new to all this it is partly going over my head. i have seen a Double chainset running 53/39 which i quess has 3 more teeth than my current chainset. is it the amount of teeth which defines a double or compact or is there more to it than that? I am aware i can change to cassette to help with hills. I know the hills will get easier over time etc but if changing chainset now i guess i need to go down the compact route

Comments

• Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022
    taken from a post at another cycling forum:
    "Standard chainset has two rings with 53 and 39 teeth.
    Compact chainset tpically has smaller rings, say 50 & 36 or maybe 50 & 34. Hence a compact can have slightly lower gearing than a standard. So compacts are popular with less experienced cyclists or for use in hilly areas where lower gearing is desired."

You can switch from standard to compact fairly easily.. although you may have to alter the position of the front mech a little and possible change the length of your chain by a link or two.
  • MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    The reason a compact crank can use smaller rings is that the chainring bolts are in a smaller bolt circle diameter (BCD). Std=130mm, compact=110mm
    You can put big rings on a compact crank.
    Given that std rings are used by professional athletes and most of use are not as powerful, many more riders could benefit from compact cranks.