Front derailleur adjustment advice

Grenage
Grenage Posts: 6
edited April 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi there,

I've watched some videos and read many of the derailleur threads, and while I'm new to bikes, I'd like to think that I'm not being completely stupid - I'm not ruling it out. The chain rubs against the derailleur, and I'm basically trying to correct the issue; this is a bike I was recently given, and have no idea what has been done to the poor thing.

I released the derailleur cable, with the front gear on the smallest cog, and the largest on the rear.
I realigned the derailleur so that it was parallel with the chain.
I adjusted the 'low' limiter, so that the derailleur was a couple of mill from the chain.
I reattached the derailleur cable.
I changed gears, with the front gear on the largest cog, and the smallest on the rear.
I adjusted the 'high' limiter, and got frustrated.

I cannot get the 'high' end to clear the chain, at least, not without rubbing in the lower end. Could anyone make any recommendations on what I might be missing? I know it's not exactly a complicated system, and had I ever owned this bike is a flawless state then things might have been different, but I'm currently feeling a bit obtuse.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Firtsly the cage should be parrallel to the chain when it's mid cassette and middle at the front, otherwise it ends up toeing in or out.

Secondly it's not always possible to avoid some rub in the extremities

Main way to remove rub is via cable tension, play around with it to get the ebst compromise, key to avouid rub in largest ring, smallest sprockets and smallest ring, largest sprockets as they are unique gears, for anything else you can use a duplicate gear that doesn't run
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Grenage
    Hi there,