Scott Contessa Speedster 15 or Giant Avail 1 (Womens)

sarahphelps
sarahphelps Posts: 11
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Hey,

I'm a newb to buying things all things in the road bike world and have been riding my vintage touring bike (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ladies-road-r ... 257cd6797b) for the last few years, commuting to work 10 miles per day and regular exploration weekend rides between 20-40 miles. Since it's getting so much use, and I'd really like to start joining clubs, I think it's about time I retire it to Sunday shopping trips and get a lighter speedier bike.

My budget is around £1000, so I'm going for an aluminium frame, but I'd at least like carbon forks and a 20 speed (no granny gears!), with as much of a Shimano 105 groupset as possible. So far I'm torn between the Scott Contessa Speedster 15 (http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Scott-Contessa- ... _56793.htm) or the Giant Avail 1 (http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Giant-Avail-1-W ... _56239.htm), which to my novice eyes look pretty similar, so any highlighting of their pros/cons would be gratefully received. I'm also open to other options if there are better bikes out there I may have overlooked.

Looking forward to hearing your opinions!
Sarah

Comments

• Hi Sarah
    Just saw your post and I'm in the exact same predicament. Which bike did you go for as a matter if interest. I'm swaying with the Scott purely cos I like the look of it.

Shauna
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    edited April 2014
    Look at the Planet X Pro Carbon, they offer several options including a women's. Very good full carbon bike for £999.

If you're not bothered about women's specific also look at Dolan and Ribble, good hunting. :)
  • Hey
    Thanks but I'm limited to a website as it's a bike to work scheme. So don't have a huge choice. I've already been informed of the Planet X website, unfortunately it's not an option.

Shauna
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028