Sportive 100km

DonBike
DonBike Posts: 35
edited April 2013 in Road general
I am doing my first sportive this sunday - 61miles.

I have been cycling for a few years and have done plenty of 50+mile rides. However, I have never ridden as part of a large group before.

I would welcome any advice / tips on riding in a group. What are the key bits of etiquette when riding with people you don't know and how much do you ride with others?

Also, how much food / drink can I expect to be handed out at the feed stops?

All advice gratefully received.

Comments

• mr_poll
    mr_poll Posts: 1,547
    I have done a few sportives and rarely ridden in a large group, things tend to be fractured pretty quickly and it is hard to find a group who go at your speed (some can be too fast or too slow). If you aren't used to riding in a group and find yourself in one then some would advise to get out of it otherwise in all due respect you could do more harm than good. Following a wheel is something best done with practice with people you know.
    If you do ride with a group then the best advice would be to ensure you keep gaps to the next wheel to a minimum, communicate so others behind you (search the forums for good etiquette) pot holes, slowing for junctions, directions are a minimum. Oh and generally being civil, ask if the group are ok with you joining them and be prepared to do a stint on the front.
  • shadow4532
    shadow4532 Posts: 133
    is that the exmoor beauty your doing?
    when riding in a group the main piece of advice i think is to make sure you passon as many of the hand sigals as possible. i only say this as i have followed a few people who don't and it is very irritating
    GIANT PROPEL SL1 for racing and posing
    TREK 2.5 training and commuting
    GIANT REVEL 1 LTD for when it gets all snowy
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841