100 miles target acheivable?

marcusww
marcusww Posts: 202
edited April 2013 in Road beginners
I started riding road bikes last October and have done 800 miles and after this weekend 2 x sportives at 47 miles - (meon valley riser at a 14.7mph ave. no wind but 3000 ft gain) and this weekend Wiggle Spring at 58 miles but with less hills.

On my own, I ride weekly 30 - 50 miles over the hilly south downs but have never been riding for the whole day! I can average about 15mph over 50 miles.

I have a colleague that wants me to do a 100 miles sportive on 19th may that is not hilly and with 3 stops. There is no record breaking attempts here - it is just to do the milestone of 100 miles over the day.

Do you think it can be done after only riding a maximum of 58 miles ever or should I be doing some longer distances to see if I can last longer times on the bike? Has anyone ever done a big jump in distances?

Comments

• ju5t1n
    ju5t1n Posts: 2,028
    I'd say yes. But there's only one way to find out :)
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    You can do 58, which is 60, so build up to 80 over the next couple of weeks or so, have a weekend off then do the 100. It'll be hard, you'll probably think it'll never finish but then it will and you'll wonder why you thought it was such a milestone afterwards. If you try to beat 6 hours you'll regret it; equally if you spend 8 hours on your bike you'll regret that, so pace yourself for about 7 hours in the saddle with enough breaks to keep yourself fed & watered.
  • Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022
    yep go for it, pace yourself, remember if its a flat route you do get to sit down the whole way. Take it easy and enjoy it!
  • supermurph09
    supermurph09 Posts: 2,471