Bike wobbles at speed

pearceygy
pearceygy Posts: 56
edited April 2013 in Road beginners
I'm riding a giant defy 1 and whenever I get to 35mph + (descending) the wheels start to wobble, I've recently upgraded my wheels but I'm still left with the same result.
I have been biking for 6 months now really enjoying it and I'll be doing my first sportive next Saturday but I would really like to break the 40mph barrier can anyone offer advice?

Comments

• I would just say relax, make sure youre not too tense and you should be fine although theyre might be another factor to why your getting it like maybe the lateral trueness of the wheels or something of sorts
  • goonz
    goonz Posts: 3,106
    Errr is everything tight?
    Scott Speedster S20 Roadie for Speed
    Specialized Hardrock MTB for Lumps
    Specialized Langster SS for Ease
    Cinelli Mash Bolt Fixed for Pain
    n+1 is well and truly on track
    Strava http://app.strava.com/athletes/1608875
  • pearceygy
    pearceygy Posts: 56
    Yes I seem to be relaxed and the bike has been checked over, but on any decent descent as soon as I edge near 40 mph keeping nice and straight on a good road the wheels seem have a mind of their own, I nearly shit myself today thought I was going to come off totally lost control for a moment.
  • zx6man
    zx6man Posts: 1,092
    maybe you are getting blown around, gets scarey at the top end of 30 :-)
  • declan1
    declan1 Posts: 2,470
    Try touching the top tube with both knees, use the drops and as said above really try to relax.

Road - Dolan Preffisio
    MTB - On-One Inbred

I have no idea what's going on here.
  • Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    Golden rule:

relax.

http://youtu.be/REkXfVVFG4c

If you tense on the bars you transfer all the lateral movement through the bike and it will wobble. It's very difficult to do and you kind of need to build up to it (I've hit over 50) but if you relax, you can easilty hit the speeds without incident.