50 Miles am I too slow?

mhughesuk
mhughesuk Posts: 4
edited April 2013 in Road beginners
I'm new to road cycling having got my bike recently as a way of dropping some weight, currently pushing 15 stone unfortunately.

Today I managed 50 miles averaging 14.3 mph according my GPS.

I'll get faster with more training and dropping weight, I know the drill but I was wondering whether this is ridiculously slow?

Comments

• zx6man
    zx6man Posts: 1,092
    Err, I would say not at all
  • That's re-assuring. It's only my 5th ride and I was absolutely spent after today's jaunt! I guess I'll get fitter quickly.
  • paul2718
    paul2718 Posts: 471
    Spent means the speed was good.

There's no rule about speed, it's between you, your body and the road. There are two truisms though, every time you go faster it feels better, and there is always going to be somebody faster than you, generally a lot faster.

Paul
  • elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    Thats very good for such a few rides and that average is well acceptable.Nice one.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    Good God. No.

That's a good average! Don't compare yourself to ANYONE else, just enjoy it.
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • canny_lad
    canny_lad Posts: 329
    That's a really good average, you should be chuffed with yourself. Well done, keep it up :)
  • Team4Luke
    Team4Luke Posts: 597
    speed has no relevance. Someone who is superfit might average that but it may be a really windy day !
    Think more about getting fitter, losing weight and feeling better on the bike and feeling better off the bike.
    Team4Luke supports Cardiac Risk in the Young
  • TakeTurns
    TakeTurns Posts: 1,075
    you've only ridden five times, and have managed to bang out 50miles already?! well done I'd say!