Braking from hoods - Help!

Fi31
Fi31 Posts: 6
edited April 2013 in Road beginners
Hope someone can help? - I have a Trek female specific road bike and as i'm a relative newbie to road bikes I don't ride too often in the drops yet. When in drops, I can reach the brakes and pull the levers easily, but trying to brake from the hoods is near impossible for me. I seem to reach the levers, but can only pull on them with pinky/last two fingers and when I do its like a half hearted brake, which doesn't stop the bike when on a hill and i end up feeling major pain between my thumb and forefinger and actually having to put my feet down to help me stop - no use if i'm going to tackle a sportive in a few weeks and its got a big hill to descend (thats if I get up it in the first place!)
Guy in bike shop suggested spacers in hood section of brake, but its already got one of those, any ideas or suggestions to help please?

Comments

• goonz
    goonz Posts: 3,106
    You could possibly tilt your handlebars a little higher? Get some practise also when stationary in pulling the levers. Is it you cannot reach or simply cannot pul it far enough to stop?

I usually only use the last 3 fingers when on the hoods but you do need to pull hard so your hand strength may be worth working on.

If you cannot reach then maybe look into moving your seat a little forward?
    Scott Speedster S20 Roadie for Speed
    Specialized Hardrock MTB for Lumps
    Specialized Langster SS for Ease
    Cinelli Mash Bolt Fixed for Pain
    n+1 is well and truly on track
    Strava http://app.strava.com/athletes/1608875
  • goonz
    Oh and maybe a shorter stem...
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    goonz wrote:
    Oh and maybe a shorter stem...