So where does the money go in expensive forks?

Murphybarnes
Murphybarnes Posts: 68
edited April 2013 in MTB beginners
Just a quick noob question regarding forks. I have very little experience, in fact, if it's not Suntour Raidon X1, I don't know shoot, and even then. Not so much WHAT I would be getting, but how would an expensive fork, relatively, FEEL. What could I expect? I hear the word plush a lot. Is it the difference between Nissan Micra and Bentley Continental or is it marketing speak. .........by expensive I mean like Rock Shox Reba etc............they do seem to get mentioned a lot.
Voodoo Hoodoo

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    First thing is that the Reba is some 600g lighter (comparing to the steel stanchioned X1) - yet still manages to be stiffer in steering terms. The Raidon flutters quite a lot under braking and on sharp hits which is felt as a vibration.

Also even the most basic Reba has better damping ie more control in the way the fork behaves, and very adjustable at that. Add to that great reliability and good back of parts, long life seals and bushings, and it all adds up.

The Raidon is a decent fork. The Reba is a great fork.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    High end forks are overpriced though. I have got a Rockshox Boxxer R2C2 which is £1099 rrp and I don't know how Rockshox can justify that price for what is a relatively simple piece of engineering made from relatively cheap materials and it's a design which hasn't changed for a few years. There must be huge mark ups on them for shops because you can usually find them reduced to £600ish somewhere if you shop around.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812