Wheel Builders/Building

russyh
russyh Posts: 1,375
edited April 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,
I have a nice set of Hope XC hubs i would like building into an XC wheelset. First of all anyone have any recommendations on what rim to go for? I currently run a stans tubeless conversion on my Fulcrums and i would liek to stay tubeless but would be happy to run a tape kit again. I like the look of Crest Rims but would like to weigh up the ulternatives before pushing the order button (any tips on cheapest place to buy them) I have never built a wheel before so may get a proffesional to do it. Does anyone know of someone around the Gloucestershire area thats built rims for them in the past? If so how much do they charge if i supply the parts? Obvioulsy not after an exact quote but some idea would help me decide to go for it and have a set built, or to teach myself how to build a wheel.

In fact are there any amature builders who would do it? I have always bought prebuilt wheels so i am new to this kind of bimbling.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Just built my own first wheel, crazily it was a doddle, it was easier than trying to true a badly buckled but truable wheel!

Got it spoked up and then used an old fork (front wheel obviously) with a ruler taped to it to true it up, took about 2 hours in total.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • russyh