Scott Speedster 20 Sizing Woes

nathanjfox
nathanjfox Posts: 5
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hi everyone!

My cycle to work scheme opened up yesterday and so I am about to join the world of cycling! I am new to it all and have wittled down my online search to a Scott Speedster 20 compact 2013 model, which I love the look of and my cycling scheme will allow me to get.

Please don't ask why I can't try as my cycle to work scheme is not very good but I can't go test ride the bike and none of my local dealers seem to have the Speedster 20 for me to try.

I'm torn between the 54 or the 56 frame size based on my measurements of 5'11" and 31" inside leg. One frame size is good for my height, one is good for my leg measurements.

I was wondering if anyone could offer some insight into which would be best if I must compromise? Go up or go down? I appreciate it would be best to go try it but I don't have that luxury!

Many thanks in advance.

Nathan

Comments

• goonz
    goonz Posts: 3,106
    Congrats on the bike, Its a great bike I got the 2012 model, never looked back. Does the 2013 come with 105?

Sizing, well I am 5'6 and went for the XS but that was mainly because there were no S in stock and I really wanted the bike. I would normally have gone for a S, so I would think you would go for the 54?

No chance to try out I guess?
    Scott Speedster S20 Roadie for Speed
    Specialized Hardrock MTB for Lumps
    Specialized Langster SS for Ease
    Cinelli Mash Bolt Fixed for Pain
    n+1 is well and truly on track
    Strava http://app.strava.com/athletes/1608875
  • Many thanks for your reply.

It does indeed come with 105!

I was thinking more 54 as I've heard the standover height it important and the L/56 is 31.6" therefore I could cause some damage surely!?
  • goonz
    goonz Posts: 3,106
    nathanjfox wrote:
    Many thanks for your reply.

It does indeed come with 105!