New to mtb and some advice needed please

pidy
pidy Posts: 24
edited April 2013 in MTB beginners
HI all.

Firstly just want to say hello to you all and give you a bit about me and what I'm after.

Am 32 male and just about to get back into riding again. I rode trails for 2 years about 7 years ago. I understand that bikes and components have changed a lot since this time.

I am looking at purchasing the Boardman Comp from the well known company that I know some of you will despise, however the bike is at the cost of £585 until tomorrow so need your opinions quite quickly. I am looking to get back on the trails again with the hope of some single track riding too once my confidence has grown a little. What do you guys think about the Boardman Comp for this type of riding???

I know I'm new to all this once again but I have a very encouraging gf who supports me in all I do. As I progress I promise to contribute to the forum giving advice and experience where I can.

Thanks in advance for your replies

I should have mentioned that I will be purchasing through ctw and limited to halfords only.

Comments

• It's a good bike (my mate has one and loves it) but i think that you could get better bikes second hand. On one 456/ summer seasons could be found for around that price and imo they are a load better :D

Hope this helps!
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Excellent bike and a bargain at the price.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • bartimaeus
    bartimaeus Posts: 1,812
    Buy
    Vitus Sentier VR+ (2018) GT Grade AL 105 (2016)
    Giant Anthem X4 (2010) GT Avalanche 1.0 (2010)
    Kingley Vale and QECP Trail Collective - QECP Trail Building
  • pidy
    pidy Posts: 24
    Ordered.

Thanks for your reply guys.

I was going to order at the price of £650 until i saw it reduced to £585 then it more or less confirmed that it had to be ordered.