Numb hands

Mullet52
Mullet52 Posts: 45
edited April 2013 in Road beginners
I keep getting pins and needles in my hands. Been out on a ride today and it was cold but I dont think its the cold thats causing it. I had an experienced rider with me who had a look and we adjusted my seat height 1/2 inch higher and 1/2 forward which did feel better as I was over the front of the bike a bit more.

But still get a bit of pins and needles in the fingers. What is causing this?

Comments

• Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022
    not being a qualified doctor I would still guess its the pressure on your hands from the bar that is restricting blood flow. By changing your grip often while riding, and by gripping firmly but not too hard it should ease. Gel gloves may help pad out the contact area. If it persists, go check with your GP if it becomes too uncomfortable.
  • Wacky Racer
    Wacky Racer Posts: 638
    Grip position, saddle too high, gloves, technique, it could be a multitude of things causing the problem. Try to change your grip position a few times during the ride, wear decent gloves and it is worth looking at more cushioned bar tape. Best to start with your riding position first though, because if you are putting too much weight on your hands none of the above will help much.
    Ridley Orion
  • mbthegreat
    mbthegreat Posts: 179
    Think about how you hold the bars, you want to have a bit of bend in your elbow, are you locking your arms out at the moment? If so try to relax your shoulders and bring your elbows in a little bit.
  • Mullet52
    Ok bar tape is definitely needed as the one I have is very thin. Would you recommend just putting another layer of tape over my current one?

Also decent gloves are in order as mine are just cheap crap ones. I'll do both these things and see how things are
  • Mullet52
    mbthegreat wrote: