First road for a biker

honzacz
honzacz Posts: 3
edited March 2013 in Road buying advice
Hi guys,

I have plenty of experience with my mountain bike, to the extent of building it myself, but being a MTB only guy up until now, I am falling a little short when it comes to choosing a road bike.

SInce I moved to a place where road >> terrain, I want to get a nice bike for semi-frequent rides (cca. 100k, commute only in summer). My budget is around 1200-1300-1400EUR, which, in my opinion, translates to alu frame, carbon-alu fork, and 105 set.

My current "top group" consists of the 2013 Cube Peloton Race (my concern are the Easton EA30 wheels and non-set brakes) and two Canyons — Roadlite 7.0 AL (Ultegra + Aksium WTS) or Ultimate AL 7.0 (105 + Aksium WTS). I don't really care for a shiny brand, and am more looking for a good value for money. And colors do not matter that much either:)

Let me know what you guys think or if you have some other suggestions.
Cheers

Comments

• smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    You like your German bikes. Any reason for that? To add another into the mix, A focus and a Cube are very similar. Probably better than a cube TBH. Canyons are great but waiting lists are long. You could pick up a cube or an alternative pretty much anywhere and ride it away knowing you got chance to sit on it first. Canyon are online sales only for UK customers so you take a bit of a risk if this is your first road bike. You need to understand the fit and feel of a road bike is very different to a MTB.
  • honzacz
    honzacz Posts: 3
    Well, I live in Berlin, so that might be the source of my preference:) Do you know if there are places in Germany where you can also try/see Canyons in person? Which Focus would you recommend?