Newbie buying bike!!!

sypherian
sypherian Posts: 5
edited April 2013 in MTB buying advice
I'm fairly new to the mountain bike scene, I'm the happy owner of a Trek 6700 which has been good iv'e had some good long runs on it haven't had it off-road since it is my means of transportation.

But after looking around for quite some time I've decided on a couple of bikes, and i wanted to hear your opinions on what to get

The first bike iv'e been looking at is a Scott scale 30 from 2012

http://www.scott-sports.com/global/en/p ... VWt-xySm25

the second one is a Cube Reaction GTC SLT from 2012

http://www.collegecycles.co.uk/cube-201 ... 2565-p.asp

The third one is also a Cube Reaction GTC SLT but this is a 2013 model with 29" wheels

and the last but not least is a Cube Elite Super HPC Race teamline from 2012

http://www.mhw-bike.com/sale/hardtail/5 ... mline-2012

Now the Scott and GTC SLT from 2012 are the same in price

The GTC SLT from 2013 increase the cost around 550£ or 800$ compared to the first two

And the Cube super HPC increase the cost 700£ or 1000$ compared to the first two

I'm looking to start doing some XC with the new bike and keeping the old one for commute we have some great XC tracks here in Denmark

The only thing that concerns me is that the 29" wheels might make the bike too large for me i'm not the tallest guy in the world 172 cm or 5 feet 6 inches, but the only way to be sure is to swing by the retailer after the holidays are over i guess

my trek is a 17,5" or 44,5 inches and i can easily go for a 18" - 19" since it felt just a bit on the smaller side for me.

The only really important thing is that i can find the bike at a retailer since i'm not the do it yourself repair guy, I can easily clean and degrease my bike and give it some new lubricant and fix a flat, but when it comes to the more technical things i'm way over my head.

Hope you guys can help me out

THX.

Comments

• danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898