First road bike questions

philbowell
philbowell Posts: 9
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
I've decided to sell my Marin Shoreline Trail Disc (2011) and buy a road bike, should've bought a road bike originally but ah well. I've been reading up and seems that the Triban 3 is probably the way to go, but just had some questions I was hoping you guys could help with.

What's the difference between the Triban 3 Red and the Triban 3a white, which IMO looks better visually (I'm a designer so these things matter to me)?

I was in Halfords tonight and saw this offer on the Carrera Zelos limited edition and wondered how it compared to the Triban?

I'm totally new to this side of road cycling, but have been following it since 2011 when I bought my Marin (went with a MTB as it was familiar after riding them in my teens), so appreciate the advice on this. Thanks.

Comments

• rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    To get the ball rolling it might be worth letting us know what your budget is.

There's a lot of knowledge on the forum that csn point you in directions you'd never have considered.
  • Sorry, should've included that. Budget is pretty limited, might be able to push it to about £400, but I'm aware I'll need to buy other bits of kit on top of the bike (some proper shorts seem to be important but advice on the other bits would be appreciated too). That's why I was looking at the Triban and then the Carrera caught my attention due to the sale price.
  • hipshot
    hipshot Posts: 371
    For the money the Triban 3a is ok but it has a steel fork and cheaper shifters: not really worth skimping on. The Carrera doesnt look as good as the Triban to me.

Keeping it simple, if I was in your position with your budget I would stick with the Triban 3 and put up with the colour. Invest in bibshorts, clipless pedals/shoes (or your mtb spds if you have them) and at some point better tyres and you are ready to roll with the best of em.