upgrading my forks to carbon

alal123
alal123 Posts: 9
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
I'm fairly new to biking, and am getting into dualthlons and tri's.Ihave a Claude butler elite. Can't afford at present to upgrade to a completely new bike, would I benefit much from upgrading the forks to carbon? Any other tips on realitvly cheap upgrades? Cheers, alan

Comments

• iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    Do you find the ride harsh? If not stick with what you got and put it towards the next bike.
  • It wouldn't be worth the price you would pay. If you want to upgrade your bike, I'm guessing you will want some aero (triathlon) bars, and you could change the pedals if you haven't already.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Waste of money, put towards a new bike ;-)
  • elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    I changed my forks to carbon ones and it made a lot of difference.I got mine from here and great price.there is also ebay etc.It is worth it if your keeping the bike a while for sure.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    elderone wrote:
    I changed my forks to carbon ones and it made a lot of difference.I got mine from here and great price.there is also ebay etc.It is worth it if your keeping the bike a while for sure.

I knew I should have asked for more :lol:

OP - If you are seriously uncomfortable then they can soften the ride somewhat but it depends on price and how badly you feel it through the front etc. They tend to feel less 'buzzy' than aluminium forks.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    What are we talking about cost wise, fitted?

All upgrades are good lol, I was just trying to encourage OP to get a new bike in my earlier post :wink:
  • elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    No smidsy the price was just right..Now if you selling them american classics in white at such a reasonable price let me know...
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori