Help a noob to find the right crankset!

pashlit
pashlit Posts: 14
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Hello folks,
I am new to road cycling. Just picked up a bike and is in process of getting it into right fit for me. The bike came with 175mm FSA cranks, Shimano 2300 8/2 speed. I need 170mm, but I am so confused with all those different brands. I know which Shimano cranks are compatible with my 2300 8/2 speed setup. Its easy to find from Shimano's chart. But I have no idea about other brands, like SRAM, FSA and many others. I just need an inexpensive set of cranks for my current setup before I decide to upgrade to 105/Ultegra or may be SRAM. My eyes are burning from searching the Internet, so if you could give me a quick advice about fitment of different cranks It will be helpful. Sorry for such a noobish question but I just dont want to buy a set of cranks and find out that my chain is too narrow or too thick for them or I need different bottom bracket. What are the major parameters/numbers of cranks I should look at? I am a bit lost with all those doubles, triples, indexes, spacers, itc. 8)
If there are some kind of charts showing various cranks in comparison with Shimano stuff it will also be great.

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• timbooth
    timbooth Posts: 160
    If it's just the length, you don't need new cranks - the difference between 170 and 175mm in the real world is negligible - it's like the difference between thick and thin socks. If you were a pro, I'd say look at the detail, but as you are new to cycling, there are more important things to worry about/spend money on, than new cranks.
  • pashlit
    TimBooth wrote:
    If it's just the length, you don't need new cranks - the difference between 170 and 175mm in the real world is negligible - it's like the difference between thick and thin socks. If you were a pro, I'd say look at the detail, but as you are new to cycling, there are more important things to worry about/spend money on, than new cranks.