Anyone here got any cool guitars and guitar gear?

2»

Comments

• CHRISNOIR
    CHRISNOIR Posts: 1,400
    Not sure if it's cool or not but I absolutely love my 1979 Marshall JMP50 head / cab. Even though I've not actually switched it on for about ten years (when the fuses got nicked) it still looks brilliant in my room.

Hmm, the downstairs flat is still empty - might have to see about getting it serviced a bit and then cranking it...
  • laurentian
    laurentian Posts: 2,389
    Back in 1993 I had been playing guitar for a couple of years and decided to splash out on a decent acoustic (I don't play electric guitars although some are beautiful and I appreciate them). So I went to a local Martin dealer who also made guitars. I tried a Martin 000 and liked it a lot. The chap asked me if I would like to try another guitar so I did. Beautifully crafted and finished and sounded every bit as good as the Martin.

He had made this guitar himself and then went on to show me pictures of guitars he had made for other well known players (Gordon Giltrap was one). Although the wait was going to be a lot longer for his custom made one, I took the plunge and was able to choose the wood, size, finish etc etc. It was made to my specification and is a thing of unique beauty.

I will never buy another guitar. If I knew how to post pictures, I would post one!
    Wilier Izoard XP
  • crispybug2
    crispybug2 Posts: 2,915
    I did have a Squier Jazz fretless for years but I had to sell at the time as I was being shafted by a divorce.

A bit like this one....

200764_1_fender_bass_guitar_squier_vintage_jazz_fretless_bass_tobacco_sunburst.jpg

However last weekend I spent the weekend round my sister-in-law's and husband's place and whilst round their mate's house discovered he had a huge collection of guitars, which ended up with a few of us having a jam session(first time I've played in more than ten years) and I played on a Steinberger, like this one....

steinberger-xt-2-bass-1.jpg