Beginner to 60 mile charity ride in three months?

pinkteapot
pinkteapot Posts: 367
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
I started riding in Feb, on my ancient old cheap Rayleigh MTB. A couple of weeks ago I got a hybrid and completely and utterly got the cycling bug. I love my new bike so much it's a bit wrong. :D

Longest weekend ride I've done so far is 17.5 miles, which was fine - no soreness/tiredness after. Going for 20 miles this weekend.

There's a charity bike ride on 19th May in my local area, which is 60 miles. I'm considering signing up. But is it possible to get fit for it in two months?

I'm reasonably fit in general. Most holidays are spent in the Lake District hill-walking, so I'm used to doing full-day slogs! I did my 17.5 mile ride in 1hr 15mins and am hoping to do my first 20 mile in 90 mins.

Comments

• grazza_e
    grazza_e Posts: 36
    I think 60 miles should be plenty do-able. I found in my very early cycling days that as long as you could get to about 80% distance before the event a little adrenaline will get you through the day.

You will find loads of advice on here, but if you ramp your distance up gradually, and learn to focus on nutrition and what fuel you need for your long rides, you should be fine. Of course your 60 mile sportive might be up a few mountains for all I know, but assuming your training is over similar terrain i'd say go for it!
  • danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    Just build it up gradually & you will be there. TBH you will have 1/3 of the ride by today & if you keep going that way your goal is not that far off. If your getting into biking just make sure you give your butt time to adjust to the seat as it can take a little while to get used to if your doing longer distances in a short period.

Would advise some chamois cream as a good investment.
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • robertsims
    robertsims Posts: 141