Help with making a bike lighter

specialized_nick
specialized_nick Posts: 427
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
I only started Road Cycling in the new year after buying my 1st road bike (Specialized Allez 2013)
I'm doing the Dartmoor demon Sportive in May and i'd like to make it a bit lighter with the ammount of climbing to be done.
I'm a complete newb and know next to nothing about the mechanics of a bike so was hoping there would be a few hints a tips to shed a bit of weight here and there.
Would swapping stem/seatpost etc make any difference or would it be a bigger job?

Any help for this out of his depth newb would be much appreciated folks :D

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    I'd just spend the whole of April climbing hills if I were you. Cheaper and a lot more effective. If you also watch your diet you'll probably lose a few grams of rider weight too.
  • danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    Stem & seat post might save you a few grammes but at a cost.

If your looking for a possibly cheaper option would look at tyres/inner tubes as can make a bike roll faster IMHO.
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • wheels, tires, tubes. that's the ticket.

increasing the quality or decreasing the weight of the ride isn't done with a stem or seatpost but with things you learn to love, pedals, seat, handlebars.

Al that kind of stuff will help but only justify it, if it inspires you to train and ride more.
  • antfly
    antfly Posts: 3,276
    Wheels and tyres wil be the biggest difference on the bike, but unless you are already your optimal weight try losing some fat, it makes you lighter and improves your VO2 max, it's basically free speed, every pound you lose you go abut 0.1 mph faster. I know it is working for me.
    Smarter than the average bear.
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    ...was hoping there would be a few hints a tips to shed a bit of weight here and there.