Expensive Commute Bikes

algecan
algecan Posts: 7
edited March 2013 in Commuting general
I was just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on using expensive road bikes for commutes, all year round.

I'll give you a little bit of background to my situation. I've been cycling into work every day for three years, come rain, shine, snow or ice, I'll be out there. My commute is 9 miles each way and is strictly on-road based. After about a year of commuting on a hard tail with 2.35" knobbly tyres and getting fed up of being passed by everyone, I bought a second hand Carrera Vanquish (2009 model) road bike. I bought it cheap in case the switch to a road bike didn't work out. I stuck a pair of gator hard skins on and never had an issue, I even completed a 120 miles Sportive on it. Unfortunately this bike was stolen from my work place a few weeks ago. To get to work I've got back on my hard tail and it seems like torture, it's really taking the pleasure out of commuting.

I often told myself that I would buy a very nice bike this summer and carry on using the Carrera for the commute but now things have changed. The idea is to buy two bikes, one for the commute (or at least winter commute) and a nice shiny one. I have been to a few LBS and I've set my heart on a 2013 Focus Izalco pro 3.0 at £2100 and I would probably buy a Ribble Audaux on the cycle to work scheme next time it came round for the commute.

After deciding on the Focus I mentioned to my fiancée that I just needed a cheap one for the commute and she didn't seem too impressed. Her way of thinking is that this is my sole means of getting around and I spend a lot of time on the bike so I shouldn't just stick it in the garage for the nice weather when it costs so much. I'm more of the opinion that I wouldn't use a £2000 bike for commuting because it will just get knackered like my Carrera, however I can see where she is coming from. I've asked a few people at work about it and its a 50/50 split.