Just Bought My first bike

pmsurrage
pmsurrage Posts: 11
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all

Hello to everyone

just bought my first road bike today, Cube Peloton Triple which should arrive at the weekend. I'm new to road cycling apart from doing the Cape Argus bike race for charity several years ago (3hr 57) which I borrowed a bike. I was wondering the best place to find some training material so I can build up to a good level of fitness prior to joining a club. Also is there any good APPS out there for logging rides etc.

Pete, North West Kent

Comments

• smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    HERE!! look on the Fitness tab on Bikeradar
  • Hi Pete, and welcome. Although I don't usually take a smartphone on my longer rides (I tend to know the route in advance, so just stick with a smaller/lighter dumbphone for emergencies) I use Noom's Cardio Trainer app, which seems pretty decent for free. I use it for a mix of cycling and jogging though (it's not bike-specific). I'm using Android, BTW - dunno what's available on iOS.
  • pmsurrage
    pmsurrage Posts: 11
    Hi Mike,thank you
  • alflavor
    alflavor Posts: 1
    I find runkeeper pretty good, although I would be looking at a Mio Alpha or a Pebble Watch later in the year for tracking/logging...
  • pinkteapot
    pinkteapot Posts: 367
    I use Cyclemeter (£2.99) and love it!

After a ride you can give the route you took a name. Then, if you do the same route again, before you start you can tell it what route you're doing. You'll then get little markers on the screen while you're going along, one showing your best time on that route and one your worst. Like ghost cars in time trial racing videogames. I end up racing my best time marker. :D

Has lots of stats - the splits for each mile always tell me that I'm bad at pacing myself as my average speed declines steadily over the ride.