Hybrid needs attention

Bettsy78
Bettsy78 Posts: 4
edited March 2013 in Commuting general
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to cycling and need some advice.

I have a hybrid bike and want to make some adjustment to improve my speed, I was thinking of the following;

Change the tyres to 28's.

Change the pedals to clips and cleats.

Can I go ahead and do this?

Am I right in making these changes?

Any advice would be really appreciated!

Cheers,

Bettsy.

Comments

• menthel
    menthel Posts: 2,484
    I changed to SPD pedals and shoes on mine last week. Makes a big difference in the way you cycle from my point of view. I now have more muscles than before that hurt but if feels smoother and I can certainly go faster!

As for the tyres, I would like to know too. I am currently on 32's with a fair bit of tread but would like to try something faster- 28's or even 25's.
    RIP commute...
    Sometimes seen bimbling around on a purple Fratello Disc or black and red Aprire Vincenza.
  • Bettsy78
    Cheers Menthel,

I am a little worried about the SPD's as my balance isn't all that!

How have you found the SPD's??????
  • menthel
    I have been fine. A couple of near falls but having adjusted the tension in the pedal it was much easier to get my foot in and out. My wife has had a little more trouble with hers and has some good bruises to show for it!
    RIP commute...
    Sometimes seen bimbling around on a purple Fratello Disc or black and red Aprire Vincenza.
  • Bettsy78
    Cheers!

I will go ahead and make the changes.

Thanks again for the info.
  • menthel
    Good luck, report back on the tyres!
    RIP commute...
  • menthel
    I offered but she said no!
    RIP commute...
  • ianwilliams
    ianwilliams Posts: 257
    I have a Specialized Sirrus and I'm going to be removing the spacers sequentially before flipping the stem. It should enable me to get a bit lower and present less resistance in the wind.