Body type vs type of riding?

BigBracey
BigBracey Posts: 4
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Hello all

Total newbie here
I want to buy a bike and get into riding for fitness and fun,and maybe even join a club
I'm 42,ex rugby player(knackered knee,tight leg muscles) 5ft 7 and stocky
All the roadies I see are all and wirey and I don't fit into that "body type at all
So my question is,what type of bike should I buy for my body type? is off road riding more suited to my build,or should I go with a full blown road bike or even cyclo crosser ??? or doesn't it work like that???

Please help a confused new guy,I can only afford one bike and don't want to find I'm not physically suited to the type of bike I've bought

Comments

• elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    Hi and welcome,you have same build and size as me and I ride road bikes.Infact all shapes,sizes and ages ride on the road.Main thing is get a bike that fits you properly and join in the fun.It,s addictive for sure.
    If your not sure on what bike fit is just look on utube and you will find loads of vids.
    Good luck.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • sjacob33
    sjacob33 Posts: 38
    Just get a bike that suits and get out and ride dosn't matter if you don't fit the conventional build i'm 6 ft and look like a second rower but i still love my road bike.
    Another option you might want to looking into on top of road riding for a some fun racing if your so inclined is track sprints. If you a bit stock and have some good leg and upper body strength you might do quite well, have alook at Sir Chris Hoy you will see what i mean.
  • styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    Buy a road bike. Road cyclists are often wirey because they eat a proper diet and ride their bikes. Being a rugby player is no excuse for being a fat knacker. Ride your bike, eat properly and you to will become wirey.
  • thegreatdivide
    thegreatdivide Posts: 5,807
    styxd wrote: