How do I know when tyres are worn

feemackenzie
feemackenzie Posts: 130
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
As I'm new to road biking this might seem a bit daft; on a MTB it is easier to see tyre wear rates. So how can I tell when a road bike tyre is worn / needing replaced.

I'm covering 60 miles+ a week and am riding the Felt-branded all-weather tyres that came with the bike.
Felt z95 - loving my first road bike

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    When you can see the inner tube ....

Or I generally replace when I start getting punctures every ride
  • Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    I tend to find i get more punctures when the tyres are worn down, and the centre section can get very thin. I change them when i get fed up of the punctures really
  • smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    Some brands have coloured wear indicators. soon s you see it, replace it.
  • upperoilcan
    upperoilcan Posts: 1,180
    You will also notice that the tyre loses it's shape and will become more square shaped.
    Cervelo S5 Ultegra Di2.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Don't wait, get some new ones now (in a sale?) :wink:
    Not sure how good the Felt ones are but 'all weather' sounds a bit iffy :shock:
    Tyre upgrade would be a cheap and easy one, and with better weather coming I would get some decent rubber now rather than wait until your tyres wear out and possibly fail.
    You can keep the others as spares or put back on for winter use (assuming the all weather bit is true?).
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Carbonator wrote:
    Don't wait, get some new ones now (in a sale?) :wink:
    Not sure how good the Felt ones are but 'all weather' sounds a bit iffy :shock:
    Tyre upgrade would be a cheap and easy one, and with better weather coming I would get some decent rubber now rather than wait until your tyres wear out and possibly fail.